Gluten Free Cheesy Crackers

Enter my nemesis in my journey to change my family over to eating gluten free: The Goldfish Cracker (dum dum DUM)! My kids are addicted, I’m embarrassed to admit. And it’s my fault. With the stress of having 2 kids close in age and trying to keep up with our frantic schedule and just generally keep everyone happy, healthy and fed, I had slipped down the slope of convenience food far further than I’m willing to admit.

Now, let me start out by saying that before I had kids I never DREAMED that I’d be feeding them processed foods. I had visions of organic, free range, grass fed, home made EVERYTHING. I’m pretty sure that at one point I had planned to grind my own flour – I kid you not.

But, life got in the way. I’m ok with the fact that we won’t always eat perfectly, but I’ve decided that it is time pull us up out of the junky food tailspin we’re in. The catch? It has to be easy for me to make, something the kids can help with, and it has to be something that my picky eaters will eat.

Below, my friends, we have 2 winners (at least in my house)! Here are 2 versions gluten free veggie and cheese crackers that both of my kiddos have been snarfing down like they are going out of style.

Cheese and Kale Gluten Free Crackers

 - 1/4 cup butter

 - 2/3 cup brown rice flour

 - 1 cup old cheddar, shredded

 - 3 heaping tablespoons of powdered Kale

 - 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

 - 1/4 tsp sea salt

 - 1/4 tsp baking soda

 - 1/2 tsp baking powder

- 3 tbsp buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor, add all of the above ingredients except the buttermilk. Pulse till the dough is crumbly (pea shaped-ish).

Add the buttermilk and blend till the dough forms a ball.

Divide dough into 4 sections.

Using 2 pieces of parchment paper, roll out the dough till it is approx 1/4 inch thick.

Cut into squares, or use cookie cutters approx the size of a loonie to cut out shapes.

Place shapes onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment and bake for approx 8 minutes or until they are lightly browned around the edges and are crispy.

I have no idea how many this recipe actually makes as the kids eat them as fast as they can cook them – but lots. Stores in an airtight container for a few weeks. Can sub in any powdered veggies you like.

Cheese and Beet Gluten Free Crackers

 - 1/4 cup butter

 -1 cup brown rice flour

 - 1 cup old cheddar, shredded

 - 3 heaping tablespoons of cooked and pureed beet (drain as much of the liquid out as possible)

 - 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

 - 1/4 tsp sea salt

 - 1/4 tsp baking soda

 - 1/2 tsp baking powder

 - 1 tbsp buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a food processor, add all of the above ingredients except the buttermilk. Pulse till the dough is crumbly (pea shaped-ish).

Add the buttermilk and blend till the dough forms a ball. Divide dough into 4 sections.

Using 2 pieces of parchment paper, roll out the dough till it is approx 1/4 inch thick. Cut into squares, or use cookie cutters approx the size of a loonie to cut out shapes.

Place shapes onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment and bake for approx 8 minutes or until they are lightly browned around the edges and are crispy.

Again, I have no idea how many this recipe actually makes but it is a decent sized batch. Stores in an airtight container for a few weeks. Can sub in any pureed veggie (carrot, yam, broccoli, cauliflour) – just make sure that you drain as much of the water as possible out before you use it.

Notes on Substitutions:

The recipe that I adapted this from said that for a dairy free version you can sub in Earth Balance Buttery Sticks and Daiya shreds. You can use whatever milk alternative or even water in place of the buttermilk (it will just affect the flavour). If you want it to be corn free, you can use guar gum instead of the xanthan gum. I haven’t tried it, but this recipe is very forgiving, and all of the versions I’ve tried have turned out wonderfully so it should be fine.

 

Please feel free to experiment and share whatever awesome creations you come up with. If you’d like to see the recipe that I adapted it can be found at this link: http://www.adventuresofaglutenfreemom.com/2011/12/reconstructing-goldfish-crackers-gluten-free-style/

Leave a Reply

